Sick

With the advent of a virus
That dares itself to call me “host,”
Causes in me Gastroenteritis
Intrusive and Invasive; my body is quick to riposte

Headache, Fever, Nausea, and slight Chills
America has taught me, “We can fix this by taking pills”
Two tablets, and from my head the pain expunges

Having reacquired the power of thought
A strategy to rid me of the next three I must develop
Before my body becomes too overwrought…
And my mobility dilapidated

With no resources and an inability to drive
I’m left with nothing more than the experimental
A solution I managed to contrive
Should it backfire it could be detrimental

A ridiculous dose of Vitamin C I ingest
Worn out, I lay down to rest

No less than an hour elapses
And this virus finally collapses

But the cure does not pass by without singing its little lilt
A massive heartburn…but nothing I can’t cure with a bit of milk.

© Luis Valencia

(true story)

About luisydomonique

Poetry Year Long Project between Luis Valencia and the Brilliant, Beautiful, and Vivace Domonique Celeste Alcaraz.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sick

  1. Artswebshow says:

    This poem is really well written
    Especially those two liners near the end
    Sickness was a good subject choice

  2. Jingle says:

    you make me feel like you are really sick…

    milk helps..
    love the idea.
    beautiful piece.

  3. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/awards-from-the-blogging-universe/sweet-princess-award-4-female-community-members/

    two awards for you.
    Thanks for the support….

    any time, u r welcome to feel free to join either Poets Rally or Poetry Potluck.

Leave a Reply

