La Immigrada

Take my hand, and to a new country we’ll go
Abandon our misery, let’s enter a new abode
Across valleys and seas; it doesn’t matter where
So long as we get there.

A dangerous voyage, for we’re not wanted
But with our dreams and hopes we’ve absconded

We must leave now, for our own country does us unwell
Surely impossible to find a place worse than this hell,
With quick feet we take our leave
To this new world containing (in a fantasy) what we’ve preconceived

On our arrival, delusions of grandeur
Anything to blind us from the saboteur
All we’ve done is trade one hell for another
But for now our mind is aflutter –

With optimism

© Luis Valencia

*(This is how I would feel I’d be like to Immigrate out of the U.S.)

About luisydomonique

Poetry Year Long Project between Luis Valencia and the Brilliant, Beautiful, and Vivace Domonique Celeste Alcaraz.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to La Immigrada

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 29 (Sept 23-29) | Jingle

  2. Jingle says:

    Welcome to Rally week 29,
    It is a thrill to have you share…
    Happy Reading,
    your poetry adds light and favor to our group..

  3. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/09/22/thursday-poets-rally-week-29-sept-23-29/

    read participants via this link,
    many are brand new to you….
    love your beautiful mind and delicious poem.

  4. Pingback: Fabulous Treats In Poetry (Highlight of Thursday Poets Rally week 29 Poetry) | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  5. 2zpoint says:

    To trade one hell for another… one has to wonder what we are here for if hell is what we are surrounded by. As I read this I thought to myself that this might be what an immigrant coming to the United States might feel. I did not consider it the other way around but you are right. If the US is hell consider what the other places might be like. Optimism would probably be your only friend…but isn’t optimism a friend even here? Just my thoughts on your piece. Keep writing my friend.

  6. penelopephoebe says:

    I really like this as a poem and also because it reflects the way I feel.

  7. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 29 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  8. Jamie Dedes says:

    I think I missed this the first time around. Am visiting from Jingle’s post with all our entries. This is a wonderful poem and resonates for me as my family emigrated here (U.S. – and no, it’s not perfect, but I am better here than I would be there) from Lebanon in 1914 … and I hold their stories in my heart.

    Poem on, dear ones …

  9. We should greet each day with this in mind! Bravo!

  10. dan says:

    When I feel unwanted there is no place,
    Where lilies grow and birds sing,
    The world pulls cloaks of darkness around,
    And I cannot fly or take to wing.

  11. Purvi says:

    A very positive, opefilled yet dreamy desire laid out! Liked it. 🙂
    I am:
    http://puplumages.wordpress.com/2010/09/01/the-exorbitantly-priced-smile/

Leave a Reply

