Cessation

Time again I must subject myself to this abject life
And as a disappointed drudge, am I expected not to think twice?
Chasing a myth, the American Dream, crumbling under mass dismay
Yet, considered uncouth, when your vile being, has desires to gainsay

Treading on us; this dream, to me is dying fast
Soul-crushing to the point I just hope to make it to the next repast

While others, those who’ve always had control
Continue their bacchanalian propensity
These others who won’t even apostrophize
Their Jackal, the church, who promise ecumenicity

In order to sedate our aspersion
A means to end our obloquy
Another way to provide disinformation
And their punishment subterfuge

Political and Social Inequalities, Bankruptcy of the Government
Echoes of a familiar fortune perhaps?
Vague allusions to the French Revolution
Might cause a whore of a nation to collapse

© Luis Valencia

About luisydomonique

Poetry Year Long Project between Luis Valencia and the Brilliant, Beautiful, and Vivace Domonique Celeste Alcaraz.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Cessation

  1. Jingle says:

    sharp,
    I agree with your perspective,
    we can not change history,
    but we can make improvement in the future…

    brilliant poem!

  2. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/25/thursday-poets-rally-week-27-august-26-sept-1-2010/
    I am looking for poets to join the Rally week 27, I would be thrilled if you come this week again.
    I value your talent.

    let me know,
    otherwise, ignore.

  3. Jingle says:

    http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/the-perfect-poet-award-4-week-27/

    letting u know that u have won the perfect poet award week 27.
    Happy Friday

  4. Jingle says:

    thanks for joining in,
    I will place your link in,
    this is your 2nd time, still, I recommend you to scan the participants list, visit and comment for about 18 of them….
    Happy Saturday!

  5. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 27 (August 26-Sept 1, 2010) | Jingle

  6. Artswebshow says:

    Excellent choice of words in this one

  7. Jamie Dedes says:

    Well done. Certainly appreciate the sentiment … we all do in these days, I think … Good poeming …

  8. Very well put 🙂 thanks for sharing.

  9. I think you captured what so many people are feeling right now. These are very hard times. I often think about the Holy Roman Empire and its ultimate demise when I consider the state of the USA. My favorite lines were:

    Treading on us; this dream, to me is dying fast
    Soul-crushing to the point I just hope to make it to the next repast

  10. Pingback: Another Rally, Another Magical Discovery (Highlight of Poets Rally Week 27 Poetry) | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  11. Pingback: The Celebrate Blogger of August Awards Announcements | Jingle

  12. Pingback: Agreement 4 Poets Rally Week 27 First Time Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  13. Kavita says:

    That was an intense and powerful one!
    You have captured the goings-on in this hypocritical world very well in this poem…
    And you compel the reader to think, and think again! Are the dreams lost? Maybe…or maybe not.. (?)

    Thank you for linking this amazing poem with poetry potluck!! It was an eye opener!

Leave a Reply

