Peanut

Sissster, he says.
I laaav you, he says.
C’mon domique, he says.
Puppy sisster puppy, he says.

With his little voice, he makes me cry.
All these words he learns
All these phrases he learns
All of these gestures he learns
But which of these does he feel?

His little kisses
His little hugs
His little hands I hold
His little arms around my neck

Is there not enough credit given
to this little human I love so dear?
Perhaps he does understand
Perhaps he does love and care
for his sissster
as much as she does for him.

Soon enough, we must part
for I must continue school
and he must stay with mommy
but he will visit.
Until then, Natey Nate, do not forget I love you
for I do
but I must do what I need to.

©Domunique

About luisydomonique

Poetry Year Long Project between Luis Valencia and the Brilliant, Beautiful, and Vivace Domonique Celeste Alcaraz.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peanut

  1. Jingle says:

    sad sentiments here,
    but,
    u will do fine…

    very beautifully delivered poem!
    BEST!

Leave a Reply

