Problem Solved?

My mother yells
PUNCTUALITY.

Never a problem until time, to me, seemed free.
A roll, a shower, a brush, and a comb
never seemed to be so prolonged.

My mother says
BE ON TIME.

Difficulties with courtesies, for they can differ.
Five, ten, fifteen, twenty.
what is too late? what is too early?

My mother asks
me to BE READY.

Education is golden, that’s something I cannot mask
still strolling in seconds (minutes?) late
appearing as if I did not give a rat’s ass.

My mother begs
PLEASE

Unlike the past, I now deplore-
tardiness.
Finally, out the door
sooner than later.
Taking after an infant time
OF MY BIRTH
when I arrived on point.

except –
TODAY.

supposed to be published 07.31.10

©Domunique

About luisydomonique

Poetry Year Long Project between Luis Valencia and the Brilliant, Beautiful, and Vivace Domonique Celeste Alcaraz.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

