Alcohol

I have a few friends I’ll let you know
One named Jack, the other Merlot
And when I’ve had a long day –
I can confide in my friend Chardonnay
An easy-going crowd, let’s add Zinfandel
But sometimes, there are other stories to tell

There are times when I’ll feel resilient,
I’ve tangled with Nikolai in the past
And when I want to discover what’s brilliant
Tres Generaciones is there to bask –
In the glory, of its better years
And when I’m not old enough to hear
Mr. Daniel’s will visit me.

For the times I want to pick a fight
The worm is there to show me the light.
And if I want to be refined
Ol’ Henessy has the right mind.

But of all these so called friends,
Experiences have been painful
I have not found one yet faithful
There is one though, who’s flavor may not flatter
But will always ask ‘What’s a matter?’
I’ll say ‘nothing’ I’ll just consume
Until my life I can resume

Inside me it’ll witness the slaughter
Laid down by my so-called friends
And this misery it brings to its ends
Water.

© Luis Valencia

About luisydomonique

Poetry Year Long Project between Luis Valencia and the Brilliant, Beautiful, and Vivace Domonique Celeste Alcaraz.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

